Completely Random Product Reviews

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Stride Gum: Sweet Cinnamon

Posted by bronzechains on May 14, 2009

I’ve never been much of a gum chewer, but I’ll buy the occasional pack.  When I do, it’s always sugarless gum.  I can’t stand the idea of pummeling my teeth with intense amounts of sugar for a long period of time, so I stick to the sugar-free varieties.

stridecinnamon

Stride’s Sweet Cinnamon offering is certainly worth a chew if you’re a fan of cinnamon gum.  Manufacturers perfected sugarless gum long ago, in my opinion.  Stride doesn’t taste like it has artificial sweetener, and neither do any of the other major players in the sugarless gum market.  As far as the cinnamon flavor, think “Big Red” without the heat.  Though I am a BIG fan of hot and spicy foods, I don’t really like the heat that goes along with many cinnamon candies and gums. Big Red, Red Hot candies, and Atomic Fireball jawbreakers all boast a hot cinnamon flavor, and I’m not a fan of any of them.  But Stride has produced a great tasting cinnamon gum without that burn.

That being said, I do have to blow the whistle on gum’s one major fault.  The flavor never lasts long enough.  I don’t care what brand you have, and I don’t care what bold claims the manufacturer makes.  No chewing gum on the market is immune to rapid flavor loss.  Cheap, shitty gum loses it’s flavor after 5 minutes if you’re lucky.  Good gum…you might get 10 or 15 at the most.  After that, you’re left with nothing but a puny aftertaste.  A pale and fading reminder of what the gum was just moments ago.  And for me, it’s just not worth it very often.  Stride’s Sweet Cinnamon remained enjoyable for about 15 minutes, which is good by my standards.  But not good enough to purchase another pack as soon as this one’s gone.   I can’t chew gum every day.  After the flavor goes, it’s just a chore.  “Why am I chewing this?”  Sure, it might help clean your teeth and dislodge whatever crap might be lodged between them from your last meal.  You know what else does that?  A toothbrush.  And you don’t have to chomp on a toothbrush for 15 minutes to get the job done.  Gum just isn’t really worth the trouble for me.  It’s a nice treat once in a while, and my kids absolutely love the stuff.  But I think I’ll stick to my habit of buying gum once every 3 or 4 weeks.

Bottom line:  Good flavor, and it lasts as long as any other decent gum.  Compared to other brands, I’d give this a thumbs up.  But it’s still just gum.

4 Responses to “Stride Gum: Sweet Cinnamon”

  1. Kel said

    It’s tempting to try, if only cinnamon didn’t make my mouth swell up. 😦

  2. Kitchenwolf said

    I personally HATE “candy cinnamon” flavors. They make me want to puke. I think it has something to do with drinking waaaaaaay too much Aftershock a few times and barfing up red cinnamon flavored vomit. I can’t chew any gum other than the Trident Tropical Twist now. It’s so damn good.

  3. bronzechains said

    Oooh, Trident Tropical Twist….now there is a good gum. I’d forgotten all about that one. It is delicious. And the flavor doesn’t disappear TOO quickly. I think I might have to get a pack of that on the way to work…

  4. barb m said

    Just in case Stride ever reads this website – I can’t believe you stopped making this gum. It was the only one of its kind. There is no replacement of a just plain cinnamon sugar free gum. I am SO disappointed. When I realized it was discontinued, I searched the internet and bought every available pack I could find, Now a year later, I am almost out. BRING IT BACK.

Leave a Reply

 
