Completely Random Product Reviews

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Tabasco Habanero Sauce

Posted by bronzechains on March 11, 2009

I must preface this review by stating that I do not like the original Tabasco sauce.  Tabasco and Frank’s Red Hot are often compared side by side, and I’ll pick Frank’s every time.  Neither sauce is particularly hot to me, but I do enjoy some Frank’s once in a while.  But if Tabasco is the only thing on the table, I’ll usually pass.  I’m sure that the preceding text would make the thought of disowning me run through my father’s head, as he’s a devoted Tabasco fan.  I’m sorry, dad.  I hope we can move past this, dad.  ; )

tobasco_a

That being said, I saw Tabasco’s Habanero variety on the shelf at Wal-Mart a while back.  It winked at me as I passed, and I pretended that I didn’t notice.  I wasn’t going to give in that easy.  There’s a lot to be said for playing “hard to get”, even when it comes with hot sauce.  I didn’t want Tabasco to think I was that easy.  Hot sauces the world over should know before we ever make contact that I’m not easily sold on new hot sauces.  I’ll admit, I’m polygamous with my sauces.  But I’m picky.  My main squeeze has long been Blair’s Original Death sauce.  That shit is delicious beyond compare, and I can’t begin to put into words how I feel about that stuff.  If it were possible, I’d be picking out a ring I can’t afford and writing vows right now in preparation for the upcoming marriage of Adam and Blair’s Original Death sauce.  It would be a summer wedding, somewhere outside with lots of trees around.  The wind would pick up at some point during the ceremony, and the veil on Blair’s wedding dress would come loose and blow away.  All in attendance would have a good laugh, and the professional wedding photographer would capture it all on film.  Our grandkids would think it was just as funny as we did.  Oh, dear.  I’m daydreaming again.   Was I writing a hot sauce review?  Yes, that’s right.

Anyway, I picked up this habanero sauce at Wal-Mart.  Are you beginning to see a trend in my product reviews?  Everything I buy comes from Wal-Mart.  The nearest Target is 40 minutes away, making it an incredible pain in the ass to shop there.  So, I’m stuck with Wal-Mart.  I don’t remember what I paid for the sauce, but it was similar in price to the other Tabasco varieties.  It was a tough decision to make, purchasing this sauce.  I normally wouldn’t pay for a Tabasco product, but the attractive box and the word “HABANERO” reeled me in.  I’m a sucker for spicy food products, and I took the bait on this one.  I’m happy to report that it wasn’t a waste.

Habanero peppers are most definitely present in this sauce.  Habaneros have a very distinctive flavor, but I can’t really describe it.  I’ve read descriptions of the flavor many times before, but they never really seem accurate to me.  Just try something with habanero peppers in it sometime, and then you’ll know.  The sauce seems thicker than the original Tabasco sauce, and has a different color.  It packs a significantly bigger punch than it’s original counterpart, as well.  Original Tabasco sauce clocks in at 2500-5000 on the Scoville heat scale, and the Habanero variety sits a bit higher at 7,000-8,000.  To give you an idea of where the two aforementioned sauces sit in comparison to my personal favorite, the Blair’s Original Death sauce boasts a hefty 30,000 on the Scoville scale, and is approximately six times hotter than a jalapeno pepper.  Click here for a really awesome chart detailing where many popular hot sauces and peppers fit in on the Scoville scale.  It’s really cool to compare, and learn how big of a wimp or badass you are regarding your tolerance for spiciness.

After testing out the Tabasco Habanero sauce in several different ways, I’ve come to a definite conclusion.  This shit is made for pizza!  I’ll be damned if any pizza doesn’t taste better with several drops of this sauce scattered about on it.  Now, I do have to say that the BEST sauce for pizza is the Blair’s Original Death.  But, since my bottle of Blair’s is currently in the mail, I’ll have to use the Tabasco Habanero for now.  I may even use it occasionally even when the Blair’s is in my refrigerator, just to keep the good stuff from disappearing too fast.  I’ll definitely be doing a review on the Blair’s when my bottle arrives.

Overall, I’m giving this sauce a thumbs-up.  I’m impressed, and pleased that Tabasco has created a sauce that I don’t turn my nose up at.  It smells good, tastes good, and is attractively packaged.  A good sauce all around, and not too hot.  Of course, if original Tabasco or Frank’s Red Hot is just right for you, then you obviously shouldn’t go for this variety.  But if you’re looking for a good sauce that will add a kick to your pizza without the heat getting lost in a sea of greasy cheese, give this one a try.

16 Responses to “Tabasco Habanero Sauce”

  1. Kitchenwolf said

    Blair’s is king dude. I’m glad that I know someone who know that hot sauce isn’t just about the burn. Like, when I say I love Jalapenos it isn’t because I think I am some kind of capsaicin loving superman of hotness. They aren’t hot. I love them because they taste delicious.

    I don’t know if I could bring myself to purchase anything that is Tobasco Brand.

  2. Tobiah said

    Well, I’m happy for you and your dead hot sauce, but I gotta say I’m disappointed in all the Tobasco-bashing going on here. Even the people who comment on your blog apparently feel free to just say whatever they want about Tobasco. That’s like saying, “Well, as far as bourbon whiskeys go, you can just keep your Jim Beam.” or even, “Yeah, I like old corny science-fiction TV shows, except for Star Trek- that’s just not for me.”

    You see, there’s something distinctly genuine about Tobasco that poser cutesy-name hot sauces just can’t measure up to. I mean, come on. Have some respect, man.

    ;- )

  3. bronzechains said

    Whoa there, brother of mine! Thou shalt not lump Blair’s into the “poser cutesy-name hot sauce” category. That’s grounds for fisticuffs right there! I know you and dad are big Tabasco fans, and I also know it’s not your fault. Inferior taste buds are inherent in the both of you.

    All kidding aside, you really should give Blair’s Original Death a try sometime soon. My new bottle just arrived in the mail today, so it’s here if you wanna give it a shot. It’s not anywhere in the same realm as Tabasco or Frank’s, as far as taste is concerned. But dammit, it’s delicious.

  4. Tobiah said

    The gauntlet is cast before me: I accept.

  5. Kitchenwolf said

    I want pictures of the tasting so I can sleep tonight.

  6. Tobaih said

    Well, we didn’t take any pictures, but I did try it. S’ OK.

  7. Derin said

    I also am a big fan of hot sauce. I’m latin, my girlfriend is from india – we love good hot food at times. Normal Tabasco is terrible to me. Not hot at all, and all I can taste is vinegar – and I hate the pee-sour taste of vinegar in all its forms.

    I first saw Tabasco Habanero on the shell and snickered, thinking it was a hotter version of their vinegar sauce (cringe). I decided to but it and found that I love it. Of all the bottle sauces I have, I tend to use this one the most. Not at all like their original sauce, hot but not insane, and very tasty.

    I’ve told my hot-loving friends about it (most of whom also do not like the vinegar sauce), but tried this on my recommendation – and most also love it.

    Tabasco, you’re got many new fans with this versatile sauce. Great move!

  8. I’ve got years of experience with writing anything from articles to reviews but this is really something…

  9. Adam Bomb said

    That is the very definition of a vague comment, lol.

  10. joe said

    I love the Habanero Tabasco Sauce. I put it on everything. Best thing to come out since Mrs. Renfros Habanero Salsa

  11. Chain Saw said

    Chain Saw…

    […]Tabasco Habanero Sauce « Completely Random Product Reviews[…]…

  12. Frank’s Red Hot hasn’t got enough heat to warm a knats rear. Though, I’ll admit it does have a good taste. HOT is what it doesn’t have. Though, after doing my own side by side test, Tabasco isn’t all that hot either. In a comparision test it took 2 teaspoons of the Original Tabasco sauce to equal the heat of 1/8 teaspoon of Tabasco’s Habanero sauce. Hard to believe? Add ten ounces of tomato sauce in two bottles. Add 1/8 tsp Tabasco Habanero to the first bottle, add 2 teaspoons of Original Tabasco sauce to the other bottle. Let me know if you get the same results as I did. BTW I spent around 12 bucks on other so called hot sauces. They all suck as far as heat is concerned. OldeYellerCat from the Twitter world.

  13. I know you haven’t asked for a list of the other (so called) hot sauces which, incidentally, shouldn’t be allowed to even have the word hot on their bottle. But here goes: Yucatan (td… thumbs down); Goya Salsita (td); La Preferida Red Taco sauce hot (td); Chef Paul Prudhommes Magic Pepper Sauce (double td); La Victoria Salsa Brava hot sauce (0.5 td). And there you have it from ye OldeYellerCat.from the Twitter world.

  14. Hot Food Junky said

    Hi there…Loved your review. I haven’t tried Blair’s death sauce but I have been a tabasco fan for years, until I tried their new habanero sauce. It was like night and day and I have not looked back. Unfortunately I haven’t found it in food stores in Canada (where I live) so I have to pick it up when I go to the States or the UK. For a really hot sauce try Endorphin Rush, it will blow your head off.

  15. Bruna said

    Bruna…

    […]Tabasco Habanero Sauce « Completely Random Product Reviews[…]…

  16. Spell Binder said

    I have a issue with the Scoville numbers quoted for Blair’s. I have been a long time user of Tabasco Habanero (and a few local hot sauces – I am Indian). I recently got myself a collection of Blair’s Original (rated 30-35K), Jalapeno, After Death and Sudden Death (rated 105K).
    The last one is mind blowing. The roots of my hair tingle, I get hiccups and start to sweat from every pore. I even feel it when it goes out of the system, haha.
    The Original, however, was nowhere in the same league. I thought it was probably a bit hotter than the Tabasco Habanero (rated at 7-8K), certainly not 4 or 5 times. I know these effects are not really linear, but 4 or 5 times the hotness must mean something. I would readily accept the Sudden being 3 times the Original, for example. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

 
