Completely Random Product Reviews

Just another WordPress.com weblog

House of Tsang – Szechuan Spicy Stir Fry Sauce!

Posted by bronzechains on January 24, 2009

I’m always on the lookout for new or different things to eat, especially if they’re easy to prepare.  Stir fry is pretty simple, as long as one has a grasp on basic kitchen skills.  I found this sauce in the “Asian Food” section at Wal-Mart.  It’s a relatively small section, but they do have a few interesting items.  I’m always drawn to the ethnic foods section at the supermarket, on the off chance that I’ll find something cool.  So I picked up this stir fry sauce for $2.78, and grabbed some fresh vegetables and chicken to go with it.  I completely forgot about rice.

szechuan

I cooked up the chicken and vegetables, and threw the sauce in.  It smelled like garlic and soy sauce, pretty much like any standard stir fry sauce.  It definitely smelled spicier than other sauces in this genre.  As an aside, I was proud of myself for cooking the vegetables exactly the way I always want to.  You know, tender but still crisp?  I have a hard time getting multiple vegetables to come out just right usually, but this time I think I nailed it.  The onions were exactly how I like them, with a little crunch left in them.  And the peppers weren’t limp and floppy.  So to that end, this venture was  a success.  I just had to find out if the sauce was actually good.  Here’s a pic of the finished dish:

stirfry1

The taste:  Definitely spicier than the average stir fry sauce, with moderate heat that builds slowly.  It doesn’t overpower the flavor at all, though.  There’s garlic in there, no doubt about it.  This sauce had everything a stir fry sauce should have, only with a pretty decent spicy kick.  I thought it was a bit sweeter than most sauces, but that helped balance out the saltiness.  There’s quite a bit of sodium in this sauce, surprise surprise.  If you like spicy, sweet stir fry, give this stuff a try.  It’s a good sauce, and I imagine it would work well as a table sauce, or basted on some chicken or seafood.  I’ve yet to try it a second time, but I’m betting it would be great in a number of applications.

On nutritional info:  A tablespoon serving of this sauce has 25 calories, a gram of fat, 3 grams of sugar, and 500mg of sodium.  Not what I’d call a disgustingly unhealthy addition to a meal.  Just don’t add a ton of this sauce to your stir fry.  It really doesn’t take much, as the flavor is pretty potent.

Regarding value, this sauce is a great deal.  I’m a cheapskate at the grocery store, and I cut corners wherever I can.  Aside from the occasional splurge, I always try to spend as little as reasonably possible.  I paid almost three dollars for this bottle, and I used very little of it.  I could probably make stir fry for myself another 5 or 6 times before the bottle was empty.

Thumbs up, fo sho.

12 Responses to “House of Tsang – Szechuan Spicy Stir Fry Sauce!”

  1. Tobiah said

    Try steaming your vegetables. Takes a special pan, but is definitely worth it.

  2. Kitchenwolf said

    Steaming food that isn’t rice is another way of saying, “Make it rubbery, please”. Keep sauteing my friend. Those onions look tasty.

  3. bronzechains said

    I have to disagree. I’ve had pretty good steamed veggies, but it definitely is tricky to get them to come out just right. When it comes to stir fry, I’m sticking with the tried and true method. I do enjoy steamed broccoli or carrots.

  4. Kitchenwolf said

    I will admit that broccoli does steam well. I steam it in the microwave with excellent results.

  5. Jennifer D. said

    We got the same bottle and what you cooked really looks good!!!

  6. Tobiah said

    I only eat the things you review… please do another, I’m hungry.

  7. brad said

    House of Tsang is the best! I absolutely love this sauce, but not nearly as much as their Bankok Padang peanut sauce, which might actually be the BEST peanut sauce in the world.

  8. Nice. I bought this as well and I agree with you, it was a lot spicier than I expected. Good though…..

  9. Adam Bomb said

    Holy cow, two comments from my two favorite food blogs in the same day! Thanks for the input, WIBIA 🙂

  10. Ha…I’m blushing!

  11. Gilmoure said

    I use this sauce with Mac n Cheese and on pizza as well as stir fry. YUM!

  12. mitch said

    I love House of Tsang sauces. The one I especially like is their Korean Teriyaki Stir-Fry Sauce. Probably very similar to the one you’re talking about but less spicy I would guess.

    Anyways, I’m cheap and currently unemployed. I’m looking to make my own version of their Korean Teriyaki sauce. Just can’t afford the $3.50 per bottle they want at my local store.

    Anyone have any suggestions? I’ve tried and tried but just can’t get it.

    Thx!

Leave a Reply

 
