Completely Random Product Reviews

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Mama Mary’s Pizza Crusts

Posted by bronzechains on June 16, 2009

pizzacrusts

Marco made a run to the gas station for coffee while we were at work last night and brought me back a french vanilla cappucino.  It was delicious.  I’m not usually a coffee person, but that hit the spot.  I almost felt like I was drinking dessert.  But this review isn’t about cappucino.  I just wanted to share that with you.  Don’t you feel like we’re a little bit closer now?  I do.

I’ve purchased Mama Mary’s pre-baked pizza crusts for a while now, and I’m ready to share my thoughts.  They’re available in 7 and 12 inch sizes, and come in several varieties.  I’ve only purchased the 7 inch traditional crusts, so I’ll focus on them for this review.  I bought a 3 pack of the 7 inch crusts at Wal-Mart for just under three dollars.  They work out to somewhere between 80-90 cents per crust.  In other words, really cheap.  I always keep random pizza ingredients on hand so I can throw together a quick pie whenever the mood strikes me.  Today, I made a grilled chicken pizza with green peppers and onions.  Nothing too fancy, but it was tasty.  The instructions on the Mama Mary’s package suggests topping your crust with whatever, and baking it in a 450 F oven for 7-10 minutes.  I usually go 8 or 9 minutes, but it really just depends on your oven. Don’t bother with a pizza pan, either.  These do just fine placed directly on the rack.

pizza1

Regarding nutrition, this isn’t the healthiest option in the grocery store.  Just don’t eat them all the time and it’s no big deal.  Each crust contains 374 calories, and 12 grams of fat.  The package says that a serving is 1/2 of a pizza crust, but I eat the whole thing.  Then again, I usually don’t have anything with the pizza.  If I were having a salad or some bread or something, 1/2 a pizza might do the trick.

pizza2

A pizza crust is an incredibly versatile foundation for a meal.  You can put just about anything on a pizza that you can imagine.  The fact that these crusts are ready to go out of the bag is a BIG bonus.  I keep mine in the freezer, and just take one out whenever I need it.  The crusts crisp up nicely in the oven if you leave them in long enough, and the taste is exceptional for a pre-baked crust.  The flavor is slightly sweet, but doesn’t overpower the rest of the pizza.  These crusts will hold up to a heavy load of toppings, too.  I haven’t ever had the sauce soak through the crust and turn it into a soggy mess.  I’ve made 8 or 10 pizzas using these crusts, and I haven’t been let down yet.  This is a consistent product that’s well worth the price.  I’ve tried other pre-baked crusts, and Mama Mary’s is definitely my favorite.  Making your own pizza is a lot of fun, but going the homemade dough route adds a lot of time and effort to the process.  If you have the time, that’s great.  But using a pre-baked crust makes this task easier and more accessible.  If you can chop vegetables and open a pepperoni package, you can handle making your own pizza.  Keep a package of these in your freezer, and keep them in mind when various leftovers end up in your fridge.  You might come up with some pretty badass pizza ideas.

Bonus tip: (because you’ve been such a good reader today)

Pre-baked pizza crusts make a great start for a fun dinner project with kids, too.  Get some cheese, sauce, veggies, and whatever else your kids like, and let them have at it.  My kids always get a kick out of making their own pizzas by adding sauce and toppings to the crusts, and watching their creations bake in the oven.  It’s a good way to get your kids familiar with cooking, without having to worry about making a huge mess or severing their poor little fingers with sharp knives.  You know, because that would be bad.

6 Responses to “Mama Mary’s Pizza Crusts”

  1. Nice review, very thorough…nutrition facts and all. I like pre made pizza crusts…I am not too proud! Have you tried the Kroger Brand? Search function my site for an at home BBQ chicken pizza and I reviewed them, I thought they were good and when they are on sale, they are dirt cheap. I still think that Baboli is the standard, but kind of pricey and by the time you are done…you are up to a full price pizza. Nice work!

  2. bronzechains said

    Thanks very much for the compliments! I did a BBQ chicken pizza a while back, as well. Grilled chicken, Cattlemen’s BBQ sauce, onions, green peppers, and mozarella cheese. Yours looked mighty delish, for sure. I don’t remember if I’ve tried the Kroger brand or not, but I’ll definitely keep them in mind next time I shop there. Thanks for the tip. And I think Boboli is overrated, btw!

    Regarding your lack of pride in the store-bought crusts: don’t worry, I won’t think less of you, lol! I like all foods, from dirt-cheap fast food and store brand stuff, all the way up to fine dining and everything in between. I have no shame when it comes to food.

  3. That is so great that you would do that with your kids. I can’t wait to start a family and enjoy things like that. I have yet to make a pizza from scratch, we usually just order out or get a frozen one, but I will have to try it!

  4. bronzechains said

    Yeah, the kids really enjoy doing any kind of projects. But making food is a great way for them to become familiar with something that they’ll use their entire lives. I like to think of this type of pizza as a middle ground between ordering out, and making one completely from scratch. I’m not much of a baker, so making the dough from scratch is not really my cup of tea. This shortcut makes it so much easier!

  5. vegetarian stuffed mushrooms…

    [...]Mama Mary’s Pizza Crusts « Completely Random Product Reviews[...]…

  6. Leslie White said

    Love it love it love it. Crispy and wonderful. Holds up to anything you can pile on it. Oh my – do try this pizza crust. The VERY BEST EVAH! Wow.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

