Completely Random Product Reviews

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sally Hansen Instant Cuticle Remover

Posted by bronzechains on January 11, 2009

My job requires me to work with my hands, so naturally they take a lot of abuse.  I regularly wear nail polish, so you can imagine how difficult it is to take care of a decent paint job.  I spend a considerable amount of time on damage control from the beating my nails take at work.  It’s pretty tough to keep my cuticles in good shape, and simply keeping them trimmed and pushing them back wasn’t working out very well.  I’d always end up painting over some stupid little piece of cuticle that was stuck to my nail, and it would make a bump in the nail polish.  And that just looks stupid.   So on my last trip to the store, I decided to try out one of the many cuticle remover liquids available.  Generally, these products will soften or even dissolve the cuticles.  My biggest problem is the random little pieces of dry cuticle that adhere themselves to the nail surface.  They’re a total bitch to remove, and I always end up doing more harm than good when trying to remove them.

cuticleremover

Enter Sally Hansen Instant Cuticle Remover.  The packages boasts that this is the maximum strength formula, but I’ll be damned if I could find another version of this stuff labeled “regular strength”.  Gotta love the gimmicky advertising.  Some people fall for that, you know.  Anyway, Sally claims that her instant cuticle remover will do the job in fifteen seconds, and she’s almost not lying.  Products don’t always work exactly as advertised, and that’s a fact that I’ve come to terms with over the years.  Oxi-Clean doesn’t really remove all the stains they say it does, you don’t really get chiseled abs in eight minutes, and Sally Hansen Instant Cuticle Remover won’t necessarily remove your cuticles in fifteen seconds.

I applied a thin strip of the liquid over my cuticles with the standard “cap brush” thingie that all fingernail polishes come with.  I knew I should probably have waited longer than the package indicated, but I wanted to see what results I’d get when following the instructions exactly.  After about fifteen seconds, I used a wooden manicure stick to push the cuticles back.  Lo and behold…most of the nasty little dried cuticle remnants had turned to mush and were easily washed away with soap and hot water.  There were still a few stubborn bits left, but I’m sure they would relent if I left the stuff on for thirty seconds.  The main active ingredient in this liquid is potassium hydroxide, which is a corrosive chemical which actually sort of eats the cuticle away.  It would probably be a bad idea to leave the liquid on your nails for too long, as it might start to eat away at them, too.  You probably shouldn’t brush any onto your mother-in-law’s lips while she’s asleep, either.  It’s a fun fantasy, though.  I’m going to keep a close eye on my nails as I continue to use this cuticle remover, just to make sure that repeated use doesn’t start to ruin my skin or nails.

Based on my first use of this product, I’d say it does a fine job.  It pretty much delivers as advertised, so I’m not going to complain.  It doesn’t have a particularly strong smell, either, which is a plus.  Good product.  If your cuticles look like shit (like mine sometimes do), this would be the way to go.

6 Responses to “Sally Hansen Instant Cuticle Remover”

  1. Tobiah said

    this shit’ll take tar stains off’n yer tallywhacker, too.

  2. bronzechains said

    I’ll keep that in mind next time I run into that problem, lol.

  3. Casanndra said

    I’d be afraid to use this with my nails being so obscenely thin.

  4. Hi there! This is my first visit to your blog!
    We are a team of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche.

    Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on.
    You have done a marvellous job!

  5. Does your site have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an email.
    I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

  6. xnxx said

    I blog frequently and I genuinely thank you for your information.

    This great article has truly peaked my interest. I am going to take a note of your website and keep checking for new
    details about once a week. I subscribed to your Feed too.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

